top of page

This is How to Read More Books in 2023

Updated: Mar 8, 2023

- Life & Entertainment -


We all want to read more.


In today's society, we see the increase in social media and entertainment use on our smartphones, and consequently, the rapid decline of literary consumption. We all, with the exception of a few poor and deceived souls, know that we need to read more.


Now, the question we have to ask is, How can we find a way to read more?


Lynn Vincent, writing for World magazine has an idea. In her column titled "A Reading Resolution," she writes, "To this day, when I visit a bookstore, I only buy one book at a time. That way, when I need another, I get to visit the bookstore again. But in 2023, I’m adding a new wrinkle: Not only will I buy only one book at a time, I will also read only one book at a time. I’ve done this successfully only once before, and that year, I read more books in a single year than in any other since I was a kid."


As an avid, and more importantly, an ambitious reader, I have attempted many times to read extraordinary amounts of material from many different sources every year. This rarely works out the way that I want it to. What does work, however, is the strategy presented by Mrs. Vincent.


When you find a book that seems interesting to you, buy it, and read it! The most important part, however, is holding yourself to a strict rule of reading through every book you start, before you begin another. This way, whether or not you tire of the book, you'll have to complete it in order to start your next read! This is a great way to stay motivated while reading through tons of material.


Consider subscribing to support our work, and get one of the first spots on our sponsor board!



 

Contributor(s)

Al K. Scott



0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page